Rules Committee in 8th Congressional

The Republican 8th Congressional District Committee is already preparing for their nominating meeting in advance of Congresswoman Jo Ann Emerson’s resignation.  A five-person Rules Committee has been appointed to organize the process.


They are: David Courtway (Festus), Wayne Bowen (Cape Girardeau), Jeffrey Shawan (Poplar Bluff), Robert Green (Licking), and Mary Stubblefield (Cuba).


Some of the basic guidelines can be found in Missouri statutes – Chapter 115.  For example, “a majority vote of the members present shall be sufficient to nominate a candidate.”   But the Rules Committee will determine many of the nuts and bolts of the process.


It’s said that Chair Eddy Justice favors secret ballot voting as the best method to ensure that the committee members are voting their conscience.


Originally in December 18 MOScout.