Friday, November 11, 2016

Dems Elect Leaders

The House and Senate Democrats caucused and elected their leadership teams for the upcoming legislative session.

There were no surprises.

Sen. Gina Walsh will serve as the Senate Minority Leader, and Rep. Gail McCann Beatty will be the House Minority Leader.

Democrats are in the weakest position they’ve been in for many many years.  Their party in the super minority in both chambers and the governor’s mansion soon to be held by the opposition party.  Furthermore both chambers have routinely been using the parliamentary procedure PQ (calling the Previous Question) to cut off debate in recent session.

In short, these two leaders enter their office with a limited and impotent political arsenal.

Charm and guile are all that remain with which to oppose the Republican agenda.

Leadership Teams

Senate Dems

Minority Leader: Walsh.

Assistant Minority Leader: Sen. Kiki Curls.

Minority Caucus Chair: Sen. Jason Holsman.

Minority Whip: Sen. Jamilah Nahseed.

House Dems

Minority Leader: McCann Beatty.

Assistant Minority Leader: Rep. Gina Mitten.

Minority Caucus Chair: Rep. Michael Butler.

Caucus Vice Chair: Rep. Randy Dunn.

Minority Whip: Rep. Kip Kendrick.

Caucus Secretary: Rep. DaRon McGee.

Policy Chair: Rep. Deb Lavender.


Senate Republicans

Senate Pro Tem: Sen. Ron Richard.

Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Mike Kehoe.

Assistant Floor Leader: Sen. Bob Onder.

Majority Caucus Whip: Sen. Brian Munzlinger.

Majority Caucus Chairman: Sen. Dan Hegeman.

Majority Caucus Secretary: Sen. Jay Wasson.


New Approach Files IP for 2018

A third marijuana reform initiative petition has already been filed for the 2018 ballot. See it here.  This is the New Approach petition which came very close to making the ballot but missed hitting the signature targets this time.


Greitens Into the Den

Governor-elect Eric Greitens went to Jefferson City, wading into the capital of the “culture of corruption,” as he took measure of the favor-swapping, cigar-chopping special interests that he made the center of his campaign.

The press release: Governor-elect Eric Greitens and Governor Jay Nixon met this morning for the first time since the election. Governor-elect Greitens thanked Governor Nixon for his service and for his assistance during the transition. “I want to thank Governor Nixon for his service to the state of Missouri,” Governor-elect Greitens said.  “I look forward to his assistance during the transition. The most important thing we can do is to ensure a smooth transition so our government continues to serve the people of Missouri well.”



At some point I think this stops being news, right?  “The financial forecast in Kansas took another turn for the worse Thursday as state officials projected an almost $350 million budget hole for the current fiscal year.  The state was already on pace for a roughly $75 million budget shortfall four months into the new fiscal year because it missed monthly tax collection benchmarks….”  Read it here.


Governor Jay Nixon appointed Stanley J. Wallach, of Kirkwood, as Circuit Judge for the 21st Judicial Circuit, which covers St. Louis County. The position became vacant through the retirement of the Honorable Steven H. Goldman.


MRL Victory Party and Statewide Meeting “to celebrate a successful election and learn how we will adjust to the positive changes that will be coming our way from a President Donald Trump administration. Our special guest speaker will be Congressman Blaine Leutkemeyer.” The meeting is tomorrow at 10AM in Jefferson City…


Gov. Jay Nixon announced 10 appointments to the Missouri Citizens’ Commission on Compensation for Elected Officials. The commission establishes the compensation of state officials, members of the General Assembly and judges (excluding municipal judges): Jeffrey L. Benbrook (R), Nevada; Jennifer A. Feldhaus (D), Chesterfield; James L. Hodge (D), Springfield; Jeffrey W. Lawrence (R), Moberly;  Rebekah S. Lucas (R), Fulton; Brian J. Nichols (D), O’Fallon; James E. Smith (R), Clinton; Richard F. Stratman (R), Washington; Helen R. Washburn (D), Columbia; and Andrew J. Zellers (D), Kansas City.


Help Wanted

Empower Missouri seeks Assistant Director. “The Assistant Director is a senior management position, under the direction of the Executive Director, with responsibility for performing advanced management and leadership work. Duties include: planning, organizing, and directing of programs; financial and budgetary management, organizational human resource management and supervision; and membership coordination…. To Apply: By November 25, please send resume, cover letter and list of three-five references to Jeanette Mott Oxford (”


Lobbyists Registrations

Chris Molendorp deleted Dentons US LLP.

Scott Swain deleted Studentsfirst.

Jace Smith deleted American Heart Association.


$5K+ Contributions

MO Republican Party - $10,000 from General Election Company.



Happy birthdays to former Reps. Dwight Scharnhorst, Tom Shively and Terry Young.

Saturday: Matt Hill and Kailey Burger.

Sunday: former Reps. Jack Jackson, and J.C. Kuessner, SSM’s Steve Hoven, and BCBS’s Melissa Panettiere.